• National Facility for Marine Cyanobacteria

    (Sponspored by DBT, Govt of India)



  • Dr. D. Prabaharan - Present

    Dept. of Marine Biotechnology
    National Facility for Marine Cyanobacteria

    Dr.D.Prabaharan Professor, Dept. of Marine Biotechnology, completed his doctoral work on marine cyanobacterial hydrogen production and its enzymology and has 30 years of research experience in marine cyanobacterial biotechnology especially on cyanobacterial biofuels pioneer. He has rich experience in the cyanobacterial biofuel especially on hydrogen, biodiesel, methane and Hydrogen peroxide, He has also been engaged in identification of restriction enzymes rom marine cyanobacteria. He is experienced in the field of protein engineering and molecular biology and he had his training at University of Washington, Seattle, Washington, USA, through DBT Overseas Associateship to develop a novel Glutathione -S- transferase employing protein engineering techniques such as DNA shuffling, random mutagenesis, site directed mutagenesis and characterization of the protein. He has participated in Arctic summer IV and expeditions and 33rd Antarctic Expedition under the aegis NCAOR, Ministry of Earth Sciences, Govt. of India and visited both poles. Because of his dedicated effort, National Facility is upgraded to National Repository and now has 1144 strains, which includes 150), meso- (924), thermophiles (20) and hypersaline (50) microalgae organisms. He is wholly responsible for establishing psychrophilic germplasm. Only 7 countries have polar culture cultures. NRMC has both the polar collections.